Congratulations to all the Young Investigator Prize Winners who were awarded for their abstract presentations at the 71st Annual Scientific Meeting of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand held in Adelaide. 

The abstract titles below will link directly to their prizewinning abstract published in the Heart, Lung and Circulation special July 2023 Issue: Volume 32, Supplement 3S111-S457.

Ralph Reader in Basic and Translational Science Prize Winner: Dr Victoria Nankivell

Post-doctoral Scientist, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute

Ralph Reader in Clinical Science Prize Winner:
Dr Stacey Peters

Cardiologist, Royal Melbourne Hospital

Abstract: Environmental Factors Influence the Natural History of Genetic Dilated Cardiomyopathy  

Judges: Clara Chow, Derek Chew, Emelia Benjamin, Rebecca Ritchie, David Playford

Allied Health, Science and Technology Prize Winner:
Mr Samual Turnbull

Cardiac Physiologist, Westmead Hospital/ Westmead Applied Research Centre

Cardiac Imaging Prize Winner:
Dr Lauren Giudicatti

Fellow, Royal Perth Hospital

Cardiovascular Genetic Diseases Prize Winner:
Ms Amy Mitchell

Research Assistant, Baker Heart and Diabetes Institute

Cardiovascular Nursing Prize Winner:
Ms Wendan Shi

PhD Candidate, University of Sydney

Clinical Trials Prize Winner:  
Ms Trang Dang

PhD candidate, University of Queensland

Heart Failure Prize Winner:
Mr Justin Lineham

Medical Student, Monash University

Prevention Prize Winner:
Ms Sonali Munot

PhD Student, Westmead Applied Research Centre

ANZET 2023

Winner:  Dr Hannah Kempton, St Vincent’s Hospital, NSW

 “TAVI-in-TAVI: Transseptal puncture and arterio-venous loop formation to cross the severely stenosed valve after early TAVI failure”.


Winner:  Dr Rajan Rehan, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, NSW

“Multi-vessel Functional Angiography increases diagnostic yield in INOCA”.

ANZET Best Interventional Imaging Prize

Winner: Dr Max Ray, John Hunter Hospital, NSW

“A sudden slip up – embolised sutureless aortic valve salvaged with TAVI”.

CSANZ ASM New Investigator Poster Prizes
Medical Student Poster Prize

Winner:  Matthew Morton

Poster Title:  Caudal Fluoroscopic Guidance for the Insertion of Transvenous Pacing Leads
Judges: Mayanna Lund, Anand Ganesan

Basic Physician Trainee or Advanced Trainee Poster Prize

Winner:  William He

Poster Title:  Comparing PCSK9 inhibitor prescription rates within high-risk populations: diabetes mellitus, multi-territory vascular disease, multivessel and recurrent coronary artery disease

Judges:  Matthew Worthley, Rebecca Kozor


PhD Candidate Poster Prize

Winner:  Sarena La

Poster Title:  Coronary Vasomotor Disorders in ANOCA Patients: insights from the CADOSA registry

Judges:  Clara Chow, Christina Bursill

Cardiovascular Nursing Poster Prize

Winner:  Marie-Claire Seeley

Poster Title:  Autonomic dysfunction is prevalent in post-acute sequelae of Covid-19 [PASC]

Judges: Rochelle Wynne, Jeroen Hendriks 

Allied Health, Science and Technology Poster Prize

Winner:  Jessica Orchard

Poster Title:  Results of 10 years of pre-participation cardiac screening of elite athletes in New Zealand

Judges: Julie Redfern, Anna Rolleston 

International Society for Heart Research (ISHR) Early Investigator and Student Prizes
ISHR Best Postdoctoral Publication Prize and Early Investigator Best Talk Award

Winner:  Dr Jarmon Lees, Senior Research Officer, St Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research, NSW

ISHR People’s Choice Award

Winner: Dr Yow Keat Tham, Senior Research Officer, Baker Heart and Diabetes Institute, VIC

ISHR Student Investigator Prize Joint Winners

Winners: Olutope Arinola Akinnibosun, PhD Student, Federation University, VIC.   Teleah Belkin, PhD Student, Baker Heart and Diabetes Institute,VIC.

Student Publication Prize

Winner: Dr Louise Segan, PhD Fellow, Alfred Health, VIC.

Postdoctoral Publication Prize

Highly commended:  Dr Holly Voges, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, VIC

Dr Aran Kanagaratnam and Dr Sohaib Virk

First authors of: Catheter Ablation for Ventricular Tachycardia in Ischaemic Versus Non-Ischaemic Cardiomyopathy:  Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis