Scholarships and Fellowships

Detailed below is a brief description of the various research scholarships, prizes, awards and travelling fellowships available to CSANZ members.

For further enquiries please phone +61 2 9226 7900 or email

CSANZ Awards

There are three CSANZ Awards; Distinguished Service, President’s Medal and Distinguished Career Achievement Awards. If you know someone who has made a significant contribution to any of these categories, you may nominate them for a CSANZ Award.

To find out about each Award click here.

CSANZ e-Fellowships to ACC21

Applications are called for the CSANZ e-Fellowships for grants to assist with the cost of virtual registration for the 70th Annual Scientific Session of the American College of Cardiology being held in Atlanta, Georgia from 15 – 17 May, 2021.  

The Fellowships are intended to support investigators in the early stage of their research career who have had an abstract accepted for the ACC21 meeting.

For further information click here

Applications close on Monday, 29 March, 2021

Ralph Reader Prize

The Ralph Reader Prize was originally the Young Investigators Award and was first presented in 1980.  It was named after Dr Ralph Reader as a tribute to his encouragement of young investigators during his time as Medical Director of the National Heart Foundation from 1961-70 and as Director and Chief Executive from 1970 until his retirement in 1980.

The Ralph Reader Prize remains the most prestigious research award to young investigators by the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSANZ).

Three finalists will be selected in each section, Clinical and Basic Science, to present their work in the Ralph Reader prize session at the CSANZ Annual Scientific Meeting.  The Ralph Reader Prize is awarded to the best individual presentation in each prize session.

For application information please click here.

Applications close 6pm AEDT Monday, 15 March, 2021

Clinical Development Award (CDA)

The Awards are intended to further develop the successful candidate through an increase in their clinical knowledge and expertise, an increased awareness of research and evidence-based practice and will also allow the successful candidate to build on their professional network. In particular, this strategy addresses succession planning for leadership positions in cardiovascular practice, research, education and management. Candidates applying for a CDA are not required to have an abstract accepted for presentation at the CSANZ Annual Scientific Meeting. Applicants must be current financial CSANZ Members (Nurse, Allied Health or scientist) for at least one year.

Applications open in 2021.

CSANZ Research Scholarships

The CSANZ Research Scholarship is intended to provide support for CSANZ members who wish to pursue a career in cardiovascular research. Research Scholarships are open to all current financial CSANZ members at the time of applying. The Scholarships will be awarded only to applicants whose research is to be conducted in Australia or New Zealand. Only those applicants who are enrolled as full time students (e.g. for PhD or MD) will be eligible to receive the Scholarship as a tax-free stipend.

The value of the Scholarship will be equivalent to the NHF Postgraduate Medical or Non-Medical Scholarship (depending on the candidate’s academic qualifications) and will be payable for one year.

It is expected that the CSANZ Scholarship will provide successful applicants with sufficient research experience to enable them to secure an NHF and/or NH&MRC Postgraduate Research Scholarship to support their ongoing research activity in subsequent years.

Select this link for the Call for Applications

Applications for the 2021 Research Scholarships have closed.

R T Hall Prize

The R T Hall Prize is the most prestigious research award of CSANZ and recognises the achievements of senior and established investigators. The Prize is awarded in open competition and is directed towards recognition of sustained and outstanding research achievement.

The R T Hall Prize will be awarded to an individual investigator for a coherent body of work, which advances knowledge of the cardiovascular system and its diseases. In exceptional circumstances, the Prize may be awarded to a small group for an outstanding contribution in the field of cardiology. The work must have been published in a scientific journal or journals. Work published in book-form and thesis, which has been accepted for higher degrees, may also be submitted. The investigator must be a CSANZ member and the work must have been substantially undertaken in Australia or New Zealand.

Applications for the 2021 RT Hall Prize have now closed.

List of previous R T Hall Prize Recipients



At the Annual Scientific Meeting of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand, prizes will be awarded to the best individual presentation by a CSANZ young investigator in each themed prize session 

The themed prizes are as follows:

  • Allied Health and Technology Prize
  • Cardiac Imaging Prize
  • Cardiovascular Genetic Diseases Prize
  • Cardiovascular Nursing Prize
  • Clinical Trials Prize
  • Heart Rhythm Prize
  • Heart Failure Prize
  • Indigenous Health Prize
  • Paediatric and Congenital Prize
  • Prevention Prize

Abstracts can be submitted for one or more of the Prizes however, the work may only be presented in one prize final session

List of previous year’s Prize Winners