We are delighted to announce the 2023 R T Hall Prize is awarded to Prof Gemma Figtree AM. The RT Hall Prize is the most prestigious research award of CSANZ and recognises the achievements of senior and established investigators.

Over the last 10 years Prof Figtree has led an expanding international team addressing the mechanisms and unmet needs regarding clinical pathways for patients who develop coronary artery disease and myocardial infarction despite no standard modifiable risk factors (SMuRFs).

She is the National Scientific Lead of the large global clinical trial AEGIS II and was appointed to the adjudication panel, co-leading the heart failure analyses and publications for the highly cited CANVAS program demonstrating of benefits of SGLT2 inhibition in diabetics.

Using validated pre-clinical models, she has made seminal contributions that have provided unique insights into the mechanisms of cardiovascular disease susceptibility.

An impressive line up!

Captured at this year’s CSANZ ASM was an impressive line up of previous R T Hall Prize winners. Pictured together here, at the 2023 CSANZ ASM President’s Welcome on Thursday evening – an “RT Hall Prize Hall of Fame”. 

View the full list R T Hall Prize winners below from 1965 to date. 

(from left to right): Prof Paul Nestel (awarded in 1965, the first RT Hall Prize recipient), guest with Prof Gerald Watts (2022), Prof Phil Aylward (1984) and Prof Stephen Nicholls (2018).